How to Find Your True Self

“Be formless, shapeless, like water” - Bruce Lee

Here is my first article for the site - it’s a short collection of thoughts I’ve compiled as of recent via the ‘self’, “finding yourself” and whether such terms are even beneficial for us in our lives.

How to Find Your True Self
When I graduated from Tulane University in 2017, I was like most Liberal Arts graduates in that I had no idea what I wanted to do post-college. I had many interests I wanted to pursue such as psychology, Spanish and acting. Eventually, I decided I would pack up my life, drive to Los Angeles and give the entertainment industry my best audition.

As fate would have it, my car broke down two weeks before graduation and I reasoned I couldn’t move to L.A without a car. A week later, I found myself back at my parent’s place in New York, happy for about two days before bouts of anxiety and mild depression began to set in.

It seemed to me that all my friends were interviewing and accepting finance or real estate jobs in New York, earning six-figure salaries with three weeks vacation a year. I started to believe that everyone was on the fast track to success while I would spend my life playing catch-up.

In psychology, the confirmation bias says we seek out and remember information that confirms what we already believe. Because I believed all my friends were selling their souls for money, when I saw something confirming this theory, it only strengthened my belief that everyone had their life planned but me.

screen shot 2019-01-30 at 6.23.06 pm
“Upward Comparison” is a very common phenomenon, especially in young adults. Though it starts as early as pre-school, where we think others have better toys, nicer clothes, etc.